• None
  • Light

Questions on the Morag Tong

4 replies
Sweetrolls:
Hello all, I hope this question is posted in the right place; it seems like a lore-related question. I am totally new to online RP in an MMO (I played tabletop D&D for many years, however). So I am playing a Dunmer Nightblade who was part of the Morag Tong, but some things are still unsure to me as I flesh out his background:

1) Is membership something that other Dunmer would know, close family for instance? It seems to be very much like the Mafia as far as membership goes. If I recall in the Morrowind quests Naryu is pretty open that she's a Morag Tong agent (I did these first but I know when you meet her earlier she is vaguer about her "organization"), but nobody else seems to know although you would imagine that people would know your face if you surrender to the authorities immediately after a killing and present a writ, even if you are hooded or something. Eventually, people might recognize you or at least spread rumors that you have ties.

2) I am guessing that, like the Mafia, one doesn't just leave (other than that clause where if you are too "famous" you get to retire on an island) and decided you don't want to be part of the Morag Tong anymore without becoming a target yourself.

Most of the RP I do takes place on the borders of Cyrodiil so I can't exactly broadcast that I had ties to the Tong without causing problems and potentially getting myself killed. Originally my idea was that he was, after a number of years being in the Tong, given a contract to kill a close family member and after doing it and presenting the writ went into hiding to escape the threat of a vendetta from his family (this seems like something Dunmeri houses would do, especially Hlaalu; have vendettas over things, legal writ or not) and that's why he went to visit a cousin (my IRL girlfriend's character) doing well for herself in Cyrodiil.